top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrendon Foley

Yet more tools!

Updated: Jun 29, 2020




Here are most of my knives. I love these tools. The two Opinel branded knives are both lovely to use. I bought them both new and are Made in France. Useful for trimming overhang on guitar sides (I prefer a hand tool for this) and for carving tuning pegs and other jobs. They have carbon steel blades are were ultra-sharp straight out of the box. Further across on the top pic are my two violin-makers knives and a carving knife I made from instructions in a book by David Finck. The blade I made from a jigsaw blade, ground down. The violin makers knives are Chinese-made and I like them a lot. I find lots of uses for them. I'm not sure they are as good as European or American made knives but they are still pretty good in my experience. The last three are an inexpensive exacto knife, good for fine work on tuning pegs. The next is a pricey German carving knife which I haven't used yet being a recent purchase. Lastly I included a cheap disposable hardware store utility knife which is very handy to have when precision isn't required.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Building Philosophy

I thought I would restate the entry in my previous blog regarding how I approach the building process and how it is reflected in my finished instruments. My aim is not to produce “perfect” instrument

bottom of page