top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrendon Foley

The parlor guitar

Did some more work on the parlor guitar today. Did more planing on the top and back, the top to near final thickness. I've never been too good with sharpening scrapers so cheated and got out my orbital sander and got on nice smooth surface on both sides. The next step will be routing a slot for the rosette. I also made up some top and back braces. I'm going to put an x-brace on this one rather than the ladder bracing that I originally planned...a bit more complicated but will give greater longitudinal stiffness to the top. Also did more planing of the back. I wish now that I had planed the plates when they were still rectangular as it would have made the job easier. You live and learn...

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Building Philosophy

I thought I would restate the entry in my previous blog regarding how I approach the building process and how it is reflected in my finished instruments. My aim is not to produce “perfect” instrument

bottom of page