top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrendon Foley

Some of my saws

Updated: Jul 1, 2020


Here are some of my handsaws. On the left is my trusty dovetail saw that I bought second-hand from a Wood Show. It's useful for fine cutting when you need a blade that won't flex. Next is a small saw that I bought new from a model-making tool catalog. It's great for all sorts of fine cutting but the blade can flex when making heavier cuts in hardwood so I have to be careful with it. Next up is a saw I bought from a hobby shop. Useful for things like staring nut slots but I don't use it much. Alongside is a hardware store general-purpose saw with hardened teeth. It's useful for making rough cuts but that's about it. For most purposes I much prefer my Japanese-style saw. Next up is a tenon saw I also bought second-hand from a wood show. It's very useful, much more so than the general-purpose saw. Lastly is my expensive saw bought from Stewart MacDonald's It cuts on the pull stroke, unlike the other saws here which cut on the push stroke. I reserve this one for cutting fret slots with a miter box. As with anything from Stew Macs it's high quality and does a great job. All these saws have their own pluses and minuses. You can never have too many tools and I've never bought a tool that I've not found to be useful at least once.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Building Philosophy

I thought I would restate the entry in my previous blog regarding how I approach the building process and how it is reflected in my finished instruments. My aim is not to produce “perfect” instrument

bottom of page